January 7, 2018

I’ve always been independent and I don’t like asking for help.  But when you’re single, you have to learn things.  You do things on your own.

I learned how to change a tire and change the oil when I was 16.  Thankfully, I’ve never had to use those skills but I know how if need be.

I Google, and watch YouTube and I read a LOT.  Lately I’ve learned how to fix the dishwasher. I’ve learned to fix the heaters in my house.  I hang pictures, move furniture, do the yard work, pay the bills, clean the house, cook meals and take the garbage out.

Things need to get done and when you’re single you do it on your own.  Yes, I still have one son at home, but he is still learning too, and he’s busy working and being 18. So, I figure it out.

I’ve been a single mom most of my adult life.  Even when I was married, I felt single so I learned.  I’ve chopped wood, started a fire when I needed to and gotten the car fixed.

I’ve taken my kids to every doctor’s appointment, gone to their school functions and helped with all the extra-curricular events as much as I could.

It feels good to do things on your own.  I feel accomplished when I figure out how to do something or how to fix something, but sometimes you wish you had someone to lighten the load.

I don’t have someone to buy me flowers, so I buy them for myself.  I don’t have someone to buy me gifts, or take me to dinner so I buy myself little presents along the way and take myself out to dinner and the movies. I sit on the couch and watch movies.

I take myself to the doctor and I’ve had more procedures done than I can count.  I drive myself home when I need to and recover on my own.  People can’t be here all the time so I have learned how to be alone during these times.

If I don’t know how to do it by now, trust me I’ll learn how and I’ll probably swear the whole time.  A good four letter word at the top of your lungs can do wonders for your stress level. Let’s just say I have cussed a lot in my life!

$#@%!!   &%$$!   &*#$!!

Leave a Reply

